Jump label

Service navigation

Main navigation

You are here:

Main content

Programme Structure

The SPRING curriculum consists of 10 modules. The corresponding courses of the modules are offered as lectures, seminars, exercises, workshops and excursions.

The table below displays the study structure of the SPRING Programme. The first year at TU Dortmund University consists of the modules 1 to 6. Whereas the modules 7 to 10 are offered by the SPRING partning universities respectively: 1) Ardhi University in Dar es Salam, Tanzania, 2) Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology in Kumasi, Ghana, 3) University of The Philippines in Manila, The Philippines, 4) Universidad Austral de Chile in Valdivia, Chile and 5) Universidade Federal do ABC in São Paulo, Brazil.

For further information about the courses and SPRING partnering universities, please visit the webpages "First year", "Second year" and "SPRING Network".

Location of Study Semester Modules Credit Points
Dortmund (Germany) 1st Semester Module 1:
Planning Approaches and Key Skills for Planners
(8 CP)

Module 2:
Workshop - Planning Practice
(12 CP)

Module 3:
Planning in Developing Countries and Physical Infrastructure
(20 CP)
Module 4:
Planning Tools
(6 CP)
Module 5:
Concepts and Theories for Planning
(7 CP)
  60 CP
2nd Semester   Module 6:
Socio-Economic Development Planning
(7 CP)

Kumasi (Ghana)
Dar es Salam (Tanzania)
Manila (The Philippines)
Valdivia (Chile)
São Paulo (Brazil)

3rd Semester Module 7:
Planning and Research Methods
(9 CP)
Module 8:
Policy Planning and Implementation
(9 CP)
Module 9:
Development Planning Workshop
(18 CP)
  60 CP
4th Semester     Module 10:
Master Thesis
(24 CP)
120 CP

Sub content

For a detailed overview consult our Module Handbook.

Social Media